The Llama Scribe

July 17, 2008

why hippies make me angry these days

Filed under: Uncategorized — antoinette jeanine @ 9:33 pm

Five years ago, I wanted nothing more than to live in the 1960s. I grew my hair out and modified my pants to make the bell-bottoms egregiously large. I listened to no music produced after 1975. I thought Abbie Hoffman was a fucking genius.

Things have changed somewhat in the intervening years. These days, when certain blindly idealistic family members- and I don’t take issue with them for their blind idealism, it’s a terrific state of mind, and it goes REALLY well with certain perhaps unnecessarily illegal narcotics- applaud circus-clown hippie antics, it makes me blisteringly angry.

My newfound rage probably has something to do with the crushing realization, four years ago, that while tossing money at the suits in the NYSE and watching them grab for the cash like kids under a pinata may have been a fun indictment of that organization’s shallow greed, it was at best an empty spectacle. It changed not one damn thing. Idealistic actions fueled by a sense of glorious superiority really achieve only one accomplishment: they piss off every single damn person who subscribes to a more traditional value system. The kind of people who believe, perhaps foolishly, that hard work, loyalty, and faithfulness will bring happiness- and that prancing around dressed like an asshole and refusing to wash your hair is absolutely the most counterproductive, useless thing that a person could possibly do with their life.

So, in other words: Get off my lawn, you damn dirty hippies!

And all of this to link to this article over at Deus Ex Malcontent.

The age of the individual is over; the status quo no longer considers him a threat that way it did in the 60s. That’s because every form of rebellion imaginable has now been co-opted, pre-packaged, and is for sale at your local Hot Topic. Defiance is a slogan. Insurrection is product placement. The revolution is not only televised, it can be Tivoed and enjoyed at your convenience.

Deal with it.

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, how about some stereotypes. Even when I was a hippie, I washed my hair….

    Comment by Aj — August 24, 2008 @ 3:27 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

