The Llama Scribe

September 5, 2008

I Think It’s Gonna Be a Long, Long Time (Until I Update Again)

Filed under: School — antoinette jeanine @ 10:51 am

The clusterfuck of events which concluded my final summer break from school (holy ?… no exclamative expletive is sufficient to describe the muddled muck of feelings stemming from that very realization) have somewhat interfered with my already shoddy updating of this pathetic excuse for a weblog.  I feel like I’ve moved four times in the last month and a half, although I really only moved three times.  If you’re curious, that’s out of my old apartment and into Nick’s old apartment for a week, out of Nick’s old apartment and into his new apartment, and partially out of Nick’s apartment and into my new apartment.  Due to…circumstances, I don’t think I’ll be fully moving into the new place, but it will be used as an occasional distraction-free study zone.

I won’t be getting the canine accompaniment I had so longed for this year, but I did order Ian Dunbar’s <i>Before and After Getting Your Puppy</i> for $1.50 on Amazon, because I saw a clip of him giving a lecture on puppy-friendly puppy training.  You can probably youtube it if you’re so inclined, it’s pretty fascinating, at least until he goes off the rails about administering puppy training techniques to children and spouses, which I don’t have a hard time believing is a common practice by dog trainers.

After almost two weeks of classes, I am the most optimistic about this semester than I have been about any semester of school in my seventeen years of schooling (holy crap on a stick- there it is).  Here’s a fun matching exercise for my classes:

1. This class is completely unchallenging and I’m going to kick it in the butt, but I do wish my professor would hurry up and get his doctorate so that he can actually teach instead of sleeping through Hemingway.

2. This class is not related to any of my coursework, but satisfies a general education requirement that I’m 99% sure I’ve already completed.  It treads the line between science and bullshit, and is taught by three (very insightful) Koreans, two of whom are writing theses in the subject.

3. This class is horrifying, in a good way; the professor has published about thirty books and looks like Woody Allen circa 1985, if he was of Chinese descent.  My teaching assistant has taught the class for more semesters than I’ve been in college and is horribly intimidating in his demands, but perhaps I got on his good side by volunteering to take notes for absent students (wait…I did WHAT?)

4. I thought I would drop this class halfway through the first meeting based on the subject material, which I thought I couldn’t be less interested in, but I’m enjoying it more than any of the rest.  The readings significantly depart from the standard list for this time period, which likely contributed to my change of heart (although it probably doesn’t hurt that I’ve studied two of the texts we’re starting off with in other college classes).  The professor is energetic and awkwardly hilarious, and altogether too excited about being recently tenured.  And La Croix.

5. This last one is going to be good, but is also scary in that the readings are comprised of dense, complicated essays (so far, by pre-19th-century philosophers).  Another young professor, this one knows his stuff, and assured us on the first day that it would be the class that would make us realize why we came to college in the first place (and all this time I thought it was so that I could learn how to play beer pong).

Match em:

A. English 225: Survey of American Literature to 1850

B. English 251: The American Novel from 1914-present

C. English 301: Critical Approaches to Literature

D. English 429: 18th Century Fiction

E. Linguistics 225: Elements of Psycholinguistics

It’s gonna be a fun semester.  When I expressed amazement to my father that this would be my last school-starting fall, he retorted with “until graduate school.”  Knowing that he thinks blogs, especially those written by me, are irrelevant, I can safely say: Dad, no.  No grad school.  Not now.  Not ever.  Never.  I would rather bus tables.  I would rather wash cars.  I would rather teach, but I would also rather perform hara-kiri than teach.

Happy trails,

Antoinette

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

